10th Year and Counting…

2016.2017…Going into my tenth year of teaching! I’m surper excited and also wowed as I think back on the past nine years. This year I have a mentee. She’s already said how grateful she is to have me as she’s come into teaching the same day students started. She is great from what I’ve gathered the first week of school. I just hope I can pass on things I’ve learned and keep her moving as my mentor did for me fifteen years ago.

Teaching has changed so much in the fifteen years I’ve been apart of this world. I’m amazed at how many hoops I have to jump through and have my students jump through. My first few years teaching I was amazed at the level of respect, work ethic and all around social skills. Nowadays, I’m elated when someone walks through my door with the skills to actually hold a conversation and be kind. I worry so much about my students moving out of elementary school with the lack of social skills they seems to have. Not all mind you, but seriously…

As I think back on my own personal trials and tribulations, I hope to pass on what I’ve learned to my new mentee. I want to be able to be that mentor that she will always remember. To have fun with her and learn from her along the way as well. I hope I’m as memorable to her as my mentor teacher was to me.

 

